Earning for paying attention to ads that others are making $ from?

Flagg the Wanderer

Mourning Algernon
Reaction score
So, here's an interesting use case for crypto, and something people may be interested in.

BAT is the "Basic Attention Token," and it's very interesting to me. The idea behind it is something people have been saying for a long time: we should be able to monetize our attention that companies are making money off. That is, for all the pay-per-click and pay-per-impression advertising, WE are the product being bought and sold by these companies.

So BAT is a "reward" token for viewing advertisements when browsing. The Brave browser (Secure, Fast & Private Web Browser with Adblocker | Brave Browser) filters out ads and cookies as you browse, and ASKS YOU HOW MANY ADS YOU WANT TO SEE PER HOUR. For each ad you see/click on you start to compile BAT in your account. They are tradable on Coinbase and other exchanges.

I'm no techie, but they seem pretty proud of their privacy, adware, and malware protections as well. Their default homepage tracks the MB of data transfer in ads and cookies not loaded, the number of cookies and trackers blocked, and (as a result of not loading all that stuff) the seconds of load time saved. No idea if it's accurate, but it's eye opening. I know a lot of mainstream sites have autoplay video ads that must really spike those numbers.

It occurs to me that a webhost (like our own UT!) might be some pissed that people are leeching without bringing in ad revenue. Sites can set up an account to accept "tips," which are automated and delivered from each browser/wallet monthly - they would also be participating in this and supporting taking back control of the ad/attention economy simply gathering BAT from everyone using Brave

I'm on Brave now, just testing it out. Seems pretty quick on a first spin...