SI Asks: Can the NFL escape the depths of its own corruption?

chevss454

Data-driven decision-making is science and art.
Reaction score
Sometimes, the corruption in an institution is so deep and so thoroughgoing that it becomes the life force of the institution. It is more than the cost of doing business. It is itself the business that is being done. Sometimes, the corruption in an institution is so positively endemic that it makes a sad mockery of Juvenal’s ancient warning—Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? (Who guards the guards themselves?)—and Juvenal was a satirist by trade. But neither he nor Owen Roberts lived long enough to confront the writhing ball of snakes that is the National Football League. Put simply, the NFL has forfeited its credibility on just about any issue within an area code of morals and ethics.

http://www.si.com/nfl/2016/05/31/nfl-concussion-congress-roger-goodell

Video It’s time to finally move on from the circus that is Deflategate

Sometimes, the corruption in an institution is so deep and so thoroughgoing that it becomes the life force of the institution. It is more than the cost of doing business. It is itself the business that is being done. Sometimes, the corruption in an institution is so positively endemic that it makes a sad mockery of Juvenal’s ancient warning—Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? (Who guards the guards themselves?)—and Juvenal was a satirist by trade. But neither he nor Owen Roberts lived long enough to confront the writhing ball of snakes that is the National Football League. Put simply, the NFL has forfeited its credibility on just about any issue within an area code of morals and ethics.

http://www.si.com/nfl/2016/05/31/nfl-concussion-congress-roger-goodell

Video It’s time to finally move on from the circus that is Deflategate

I came here to post this very article and the very same quote that you did.

Wow. WHAT. A. READ.

I came here to post this very article and the very same quote that you did.