What job skills do you bring to post-apocalyptic survival?

Undertaker #59*

Car'a'carn
Staff member
Reaction score
And I don't mean things you might already know. Like, if you are a weekend survival warrior leaving off the land, but in your day job, you sell ice cream cones, only looking for your ice cream cone skills here. What, if anything, from your CURRENT career would be useful in a post-apocalyptic world? (Think The Stand, Walking Dead, etc...).

Considering I live in a cube staring at a computer screen all day, I don't think I have anything that would translate well to a world without power.

I've just recently been given some managerial responsibilities, with one of them having to rank my team members 1-n. The way my manager put it, if you had to start throwing people off the life boat, what order would you do it. My wise ass response was whoever ate the most food.

That being said, I'm just a software engineer, so my skills don't translate to world without computers. So I better start eating less.

Ditto on "work skills useless in world without power"
My kids are into the survivalist stuff and I bought them a book on how to survive in the woods. Was interesting as I hadn't thought of some of the stuff they had in there... like eating Birch Bark! :)
and eating bugs... lots of bugs. Yum!

I draft maps, not sure how that would work in case of an emergency but my years in the field with a machete in the woods determining property lines or the time I spent working on construction sites doing everything from design to the welding of steel 4 stories up (and every job in between - benefit of non-union work) may be of some use.